Friday, October 30, 2009

A great two days... now on to the third!

Yesterday, at work (Passport, Inc.), we all went to our warehouse to organize and alphabetize all the camp stuff (plus everything else under the sun!). We worked all day and were all exhausted at the end of everything... however, it was such a great day!

This picture is of some of us (I'm on the end/left) at the warehouse in our Maggie Lee For Good t-shirts. Maggie Lee was a little girl on her way to one of our Passport camp locations when her bus (with her entire youth group) flipped. One boy died and she tried to hold on to life for about a month but, sadly, passed away. So her parents started this charity/website/event for everyone to sign up and do "good" things for other people. What is most amazing to us is that all the profit that they are making on their t-shirts (that we bought and are wearing in this photo) are being donated to Watering Malawi. WM is one of our other non-profits that we do here at Passport, Inc. Colleen, my boss (on the end/right), created WM and spoke at Lee's church in Louisiana about a month ago. So much good has come from this little girls tragic ending. So inspiring.

On to a funny side of things. Today is the day before Halloween and our office dresses up. I'll have lots more photos to put up as soon as we get them off the office camera... but for now you'll have to look at my computer photo booth pictures. I made a skunk outfit! I thought it turned out pretty well! I might add a baby powder line down my head for tomorrow when it's really Halloween! I give credit to Marnie for giving me that idea!!!

Remember last year?? I was an Jack in the Beanstalk... well I was the Beanstalk and I had a little figurine as Jack on my hat! Look back at my first entries and you'll see. I was a lot goofier looking then for sure. Everyone thought I was an elf though. haha at least it was all fun!

Hooray for Halloween! I'm so glad it's tomorrow! I've been thinking all day that it's almost over. Not at all! It's going to be here ALL DAY SATURDAY! YAY!

Happy Halloween!

Monday, October 26, 2009

Autumn.

Things always get better with time. Seasons change and holidays fill me with such joy I feel like exploding! Yes, that's a bit much, but I truly love Autumn and all that it brings. The crisp air is so refreshing.Wardrobe changes are a must. I get to pull out my jackets and leggings. And everyone is talking about what they'll dress up as for Halloween! So much fun! This year, Keith and I plan to keep things simple. We're going over to mom and dad's to have a bowl of chilli while helping them answer the door for all the trick-or-treaters in the neighborhood. We never get kids at our condo so we leave a bowl of candy (just in case) on our front porch and head over to my parent's kid-packed street.

In my last post I was so down about losing the Hillmoor house. With the passing weeks, though, Keith and I have really felt a great peace about it. We honestly just wanted a house. Though the Hillmoor house was wonderful, it didn't have exactly everything that we were looking for... so, all in all, it really was for the best. Now we can try to sell our condo at a leisurely pace and then start looking for the perfect house. It's out there, I know! And (yes, mom, you're right) we don't have to have the perfect house right away to start a family. Next year if we want to start trying then that's great!... wherever we are! We'll make it work. And if we decide not to, that's okay too.

Now, if I could figure out a Halloween outfit for work on Friday I'll be set! I have no money at the moment so it has to be purely creative! We'll see!

Abigail

Wednesday, October 7, 2009

Bummer.

So, all the hoping, wishing, and praying has probably worked... I just don't see how at the moment. That's the good thing about faith. You don't necessarily have to understand why things haven't worked out the way you wanted them to... you just know that things will eventually get better.

I'm talking about the house we had a contingent contract on. We had someone who wanted to buy our condo but couldn't find the financing. They almost had enough but it just didn't work out. Monday, we found out that there was another offer on the house we wanted... so, since our one guy for the condo fell through we had to let the house go and sign that dreaded "Mutual Release of Property" form. It was pretty much my dream home. For the past 4 months we've been wanting to close on it. That's just the way the market is when you have a contingency contract though. We always knew this could happen. We just didn't think that it would.

Now, though we're having to start back at step 1 to sell our condo, we are a little more relaxed about it since we don't have a pending contract on a house. So, hopefully, if we can sell it, then we can start looking for the perfect house out there. It still makes me sad but I really believe it is ok and there is a better house out there for us.

Back to baking cookies and open houses. The cookies part isn't too bad, I have to admit.

Abigail