
So, my last blog (and another before it) was all about "crossing my fingers!" I guess I should explain a bit on why I was doing that. Keith and I found an adorable little fixer-upper in Edgewood right behind Edgewood Elementary where I went as a kid. We contacted our amazing realtor (Jimbo K.) and went through all the paperwork to set up a contingency contract based on the selling of our condo... Days went by and we found out more about the place. Apparently a bank owned it because it was in the middle of a forclosure. The bank didn't think to tell us until after we did all that paperwork that they don't accept contingency contracts. Big blow on our side. So, long story short... Jimbo asked for a hypothetical counter-offer (based on our low bid). The bank refused it and said someone else was in negotiations with them on the house. I still feel like they dragged their feet (the bank) since we wanted a contingency contract.
It hit me kind of hard. Like a ton of bricks to be exact. I was already envisioning our holidays there... where to set up an outdoor cookout... baking cookies with our kids in the kitchen. Silly of me. I do this a lot. Get ahead of myself. But that's all I want. I want a house, not a big one, just a good size to raise a family, in Homewood. I love the community there. It was where I was raised. The schools are great and we love going to Canterbury Methodist (even though it's technically in Mtn Brook). Our condo is in Homewood (perfect location) but it's small. Right size for us now but I want a baby soon. All I need to do is trust that God is looking out for us. I am already so blessed. I shouldn't be sad about anything really. My family is healthy and happy. I just want to expand a little. That's all.
On a next note... After we found out that the little house we hoped for was basically taken I jumped back on RealtySouth.com and saw another little house also in Edgewood! We haven't seen the inside of it but it looks very charming! Needs a good paint job on the outside and a good face lift but I love doing that!!! We could make it ours! It's also really close to Edgewood Elementary and close to my friend Maya's house!
Ok, that's all I'm going to right about it. I may jinx the whole thing. We haven't even learned much about it. It could be a horrible sell and just awful inside. But, again, I'm crossing my fingers...
Abigail
2 comments:
I could have your child in my class!!
Oh!!! You are so right!!! Now I want to live close to Edgewood even more!!! Too much fun! What grad do you teach?
Post a Comment